you're reading...
Music

Review: Lady Gaga’s Judas video

lady gaga judas video

Last night Lady Gaga’s music video for her latest single, Judas, was released.

The video is everything we’ve come to expect from the Mother Monster. Its extravagant and controversial and is full of awesome dance routines. It’s a grungy video filled with bikers, leather jackets and chains. There is also a lot of christian iconography present. No doubt, there will be a lot of unhappy religious people.

Rolling Stone.com has described that video as a “highly sexualized take on Jesus Christ, Mary Magdalene and Judas Iscariot”.

She has received a lot of criticism about the religious content of the lyrics of the song.

This is what Lady Gaga had to say about the video:

“Well, the video, in essence, suggests that forgiveness and betrayal are hand in hand,” she told MSN Entertainment in Canada. “The video puts destiny above all things and postures that the mistakes in your life are in fact not mistakes at all, they are just part of your overarching potential and your destiny.”

She went on to say:

“Well, I want to allow the video to speak for itself, but I will say that the theme of the video and the way that I wanted to aesthetically portray the story was as a motorcycle Fellini movie, where the apostles are revolutionaries in a modern-day Jerusalem. And I play Mary Magdalene, leading them into the town where we meet Jesus, and I will leave the rest for you to see,” she teased further about the video, which she co-directed with Laurieann Gibson. “But it’s meant more to celebrate faith than it is to challenge it.”

She also says that ‘Judas’ is a metaphor and an analogy about forgiveness and betrayal.

Watch the video below and let me know what your take is.

Judas lyrics:
Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GaGa

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GaGa

[Lady GaGa – Verse 1]
When he comes to me, I am ready

I’ll wash his feet with my hair if he needs

Forgive him when his tongue lies through his brain

Even after three times, he betrays me

I’ll bring him down, bring him down, down

A king with no crown, king with no crown

[Chorus]
I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GaGa

[Lady GaGa – Verse 2]
I couldn’t love a man so purely

Even darkness forgave his crooked way

I’ve learned love is like a brick, you can

Build a house or sink a dead body

I’ll bring him down, bring him down, down

A king with no crown, king with no crown

[Chorus]
I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel
But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

[Bridge]
In the most Biblical sense,

I am beyond repentance

Fame hooker, prostitute wench, vomits her mind

But in the cultural sense

I just speak in future tense

Judas kiss me if offensed,

Or wear ear condom next time

I wanna love you,

But something’s pulling me away from you

Jesus is my virtue,

Judas is the demon I cling to

I cling to

[Chorus]
I’m just a Holy fooll, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GAGA

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GAGAOh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GaGa

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GaGa

[Lady GaGa – Verse 1]
When he comes to me, I am ready

I’ll wash his feet with my hair if he needs

Forgive him when his tongue lies through his brain

Even after three times, he betrays me

I’ll bring him down, bring him down, down

A king with no crown, king with no crown

[Chorus]
I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GaGa

[Lady GaGa – Verse 2]
I couldn’t love a man so purely

Even darkness forgave his crooked way

I’ve learned love is like a brick, you can

Build a house or sink a dead body

I’ll bring him down, bring him down, down

A king with no crown, king with no crown

[Chorus]
I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby
[ From: http://www.metrolyrics.com/judas-lyrics-lady-gaga.html ]

I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel
But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

EW

[Bridge]
In the most Biblical sense,

I am beyond repentance

Fame hooker, prostitute wench, vomits her mind

But in the cultural sense

I just speak in future tense

Judas kiss me if offensed,

Or wear ear condom next time

I wanna love you,

But something’s pulling me away from you

Jesus is my virtue,

Judas is the demon I cling to

I cling to

[Chorus]
I’m just a Holy fooll, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GAGA

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GAGA
Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GaGa

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GaGa

[Lady GaGa – Verse 1]
When he comes to me, I am ready

I’ll wash his feet with my hair if he needs

Forgive him when his tongue lies through his brain

Even after three times, he betrays me

I’ll bring him down, bring him down, down

A king with no crown, king with no crown

[Chorus]
I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GaGa

[Lady GaGa – Verse 2]
I couldn’t love a man so purely

Even darkness forgave his crooked way

I’ve learned love is like a brick, you can

Build a house or sink a dead body

I’ll bring him down, bring him down, down

A king with no crown, king with no crown

[Chorus]
I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby
[ From: http://www.metrolyrics.com/judas-lyrics-lady-gaga.html ]

I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel
But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

EW

[Bridge]
In the most Biblical sense,

I am beyond repentance

Fame hooker, prostitute wench, vomits her mind

But in the cultural sense

I just speak in future tense

Judas kiss me if offensed,

Or wear ear condom next time

I wanna love you,

But something’s pulling me away from you

Jesus is my virtue,

Judas is the demon I cling to

I cling to

[Chorus]
I’m just a Holy fooll, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

I’m just a Holy fool, oh baby he’s so cruel

But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Oh-oh-oh-ohoo

I’m in love with Juda-as, Juda-as

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GAGA

Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas Juda-a-a, Judas GAGA

Sources:
1,2

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

