you're reading...
Uncategorized

Dave Salmoni answers some questions

How long have you been working with animals?

Since 1998. I started working with animals while I was still at university.

How often do you visit South Africa and which is your favorite town?

As often as I can and when I have a project here I need to work on. My favorite town is Phillippolis in the Free State, because I lived and worked there from 2001 – 2005.

Do you have any projects planned in South Africa?

There are a couple in the pipeline.

Which is your favorite animal you have worked with?

I do not have favorites. I love each animal for a different reason. Animals are like family to me. I love them all for different reasons.

What is the worst injury you have received while working with the animals?

In 2003 I had to have spinal surgery after I inflicted a spinal injury whilst playing with Tigers. In 1998 I was mauled by Bongo, the first lion I ever trained. He broke my rib, tore my leg and went for my throat. The first thing I did to

How long has your company ‘Triosphere’ been operating in South Africa?

For six years

Why did you choose to have your company based in South Africa?

My partners are in South Africa. The most wildlife are also here, so it just made sense.

Why are you in South Africa at the moment?

For a couple of reasons. Firstly, I was here to attend and speak at a showcase of Discovery Networks’ programming for 2011 held at the venue Scarlet Ribbon in Johannesburg on Wednesday night. Animal Planet is part of Discovery Networks (Animal Planet, Discovery Channel, Discovery World and Discovery HD) I was also here to promote Animal Planet’s Animal Heroes Campaign that runs from September – December. The campaign celebrates the human heroes that brave the animal world. Another reason I was here, is to promote my shows – one of the newest being World’s Deadliest Towns airing in South Africa in October 2011.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Dave Salmoni answers some questions

  1. Well done, Tiger.

    Posted by Diana Lane | September 22, 2010, 20:30

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Dave Salmoni answers some questions « Media Alive -- Topsy.com - September 23, 2010

Leave a Reply

