you're reading...
Uncategorized

Valentine's Day

roses

It’s Valentine’s Day on Sunday and even though this is a day of love I can’t help but get a little annoyed when it comes around.

I believe that Valentine’s Day should be about the love that you and your partner share and not about how big the bunch of roses is that he got you or how expensive the jewellery is.

Over the past few days I have been speaking to some women and I find myself dumbstruck at the views of some of them.

My fiance and I love each other deeply and, for me, it’s enough if he gives me a hug and tells me he loves me. But for some people, love seems to mean how big the gift is and how much money was spent. And never mind the fact that it has to be all about the girl. What about the guy? I’m sure he would also love to be spoilt a little.

Every year I get asked after Valentine’s Day – ‘What did you get Natashia?’. It’s never about what I got for my man. And when my answer is ‘nothing’ or something that isn’t significant enough to them, they look at me as if I’m the unluckiest girl in the world.

But, what they don’t know, is that I’m the luckiest girl in the world.

For a history of Valentine’s day check out this site and this one.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

